[artists] telepherique


Releases on Afe:
Zehn Tage (Touka) [afe059cd]
Hörspiele [afe046lcd]
A-C Symbiose [afe031lcd]

On the web:


Telepherique was born in 1989 as a solo project of Klaus Jochim from Würzburg, Germany. In the beginning he started experimenting with sounds using microphones, a few analogic synthesizers, tapes and effect units to create his compositions.

His wife Danijela and his brother Rene Jochim joined him in 1992. With an expanded line-up, the sound of Telepherique got richer and included more and more analogic equipment.

Telepherique is the french word for funicular railway. an apt metaphor for communication from a lower to an higher lever.

Since the beginning Telepherique showed a clear intention to explore different processes and collaborate with other artists and people of different cultures.

Their sound is rooted in the smoother zone of radical industrial music, though hinting at early seventies's cosmic couriers (Kluster, Conrad Schnitzler, Klaus Schulze and Tangerine Dream), with a sharper and less intrusive rhytmic edge.

Many other individuals joined in for specific projects, and during the years Telepherique collaborated with other estabilished artists such as Ultra Milkmaids, Roger Rotor, De Fabriek, Brume, Contagious Orgasm, K2, Aube and many more.

Their music has been released worldwide on labels such as Ant-Zen, Noise Museum, SSSM, Old Europa Cafe, Rendez Vous Radikal, etc.

After a long time friendship, during 2003, Telepherique collaborated with Italy's most well-known and respected experimental composer, Maurizio Bianchi, on a project focused on the uselessness of time calculation compared to the precision of time itself. This work, entitled Zehn Tage (Touka), was released by Afe in June 2004.