[artists] canaan


Releases on Afe:

A.A.V.V.: No Abiding Places [afe030lcd]

On the web:

Canaan, consisting of Mauro (guitars, keyboards, samples and vocals), Luca (keyboards), Matteo (guitars), Nico (bass) and Andrea (drums) was formed back in January 1996 after the split of Ras Algethi, probably the one and only doom band ever born out of Italy.

The new project's musical approach was directed towards a contamination of dark, wave and experimental music, something nobody tried before.

The extremely important role played by samplers and keyboards, mixed and intertwined with "traditional" instruments (guitars, drums and bass) led Canaan to new frontiers, disclosing a personal and peculiar way of composing music.


Blue Fire (1996)
Walk Into My Open Womb (2xCDs, 1998)
Brand New Babylon (2000)
A Calling to Weakness (2002)
The Unsaid Words (2006)